Post pregnancy abdominal separation/diastasis recti.

I have been meaning to post this for a while and have recently been overwhelmed by my life, that i completely forgot. so here goes..

Nobody’s perfect and sometimes as much as we strive for it, that idea of perfection. We have to remind ourselves of why we want to achieve things and for what reason..One persons ideas of perfection will never be the same as the next.

For me, i wanted to shed my pregnancy weight gain ( just over 4 stone in weight) and sculpt a more curvaceous figure as i have quite a naturally narrow, athletic body type. However..as well as i believe i am doing, one thing i  have always struggled with, after having my firstborn and then my second, is the appearance of my tummy.

Once upon a time i had washboard abs, tight skin and three perfect tummy piercings..

After carrying one large 8.15lb baby and one extra large 10.6 baby, my piercings have stretched, tummy button sagged and my muscles have suffered permanent separation..This is an ongoing thing for me as I’m constantly on the lookout for tummy tightening creams and remedies for scarring ..thus far I’ve seen results with a few products, mentioned on another blog post.. but there is little hope for the fact that remains as i can still manage to fit one hands finger width and length between my ab muscles.

I have received a few private messages from lovely mummies, asking what they think is possible for this issue and what i personally think and feel is the best way to manage it.

Well, firstly, my sister, well, one of them (i have 6)..one of my older sisters, who also has three children, has this condition, and we have completely the opposite issues. Whilst my tummy muscles sit rather far apart increasing the amount of sagging skin between them, my sister’s stomach has prolapsed through the gap created due to the abdominal separation.

As also mentioned in a previous post, i have always been a fan of skin-tight underwear and supportive garments. But my number one tip for any mummies suffering would be to treat yourselves to some smooth, tight underwear. I will add in for you an image of my favourite high waisted briefs. They come in black and nude. They’re from Sainsbury’s ‘TU’ underwear collection and cost around £6 I’m sure.    hese are honestly, life savers. As soon as my tummy muscles went down after having my last cesarian birth, i bought quite a few of these, they wash well and leave a minimal panty line marking.

Furthermore, if your muscles are prolapsed and you are decided upon having no further pregnancies, there are surgeries available to have the actual muscles sewn back together. I do not know much more on that subject matter, so i would suggest that you do your research, always checking the board of registered surgeons before paying any money, ask lots of questions and ask to see previous work done.

Waist training has given both me and my sister incredible results, as we both started at a similar time, we have both agreed that the compression offered through the support of the waist trainer helps to encourage the muscles to meet closer. I started after my second pregnancy weight gain, with a 42 inch waist line. ~~Details of my birth experiences will be in future posts, but without going into too much detail and spinning off onto another tangent, i had a few complications after my second section, involving the ballooning of my organs due to a bowel blockage which increased the after size of my tummy dramatically.~~ Since coming home over a week after giving birth, that meant i measured much more than i might have done so if i had not had those complications perhaps, nonetheless.. 42 inches it was..and on this exact day, today i measure the exact reverse, at 24 inches. 
I took on the opportunity to model for waist shaper Uk three months after my second delivery, with a desire to represent mother’s that want to get fit. I have been honest with the company managers from day one that if i didn’t believe the product worked, i wouldn’t continue to represent it, so when i give my advice and suggestions on the topic, know that it is because i believe in the product, i do NOT get paid to give positive feedback. Anybody who knows me will also tell you, I’m too true a character to tell strangers or anyone for that matter, any lie as it goes against all i stand for.

So if your suffering with separated abdominal muscles, i would suggest that you firstly go to the doctors and discuss it. Perhaps your not sure if you have it? Perhaps this blog posts made you have a think and help you come to realise you do in fact now know why after your pregnancy you can’t shed that lumpy mid section? If you want to get into your own waist training journey, then i would suggest that you start with the ‘sports’ shaper, as this shaper is designed for the gym, meaning it offers more movement and less restrictions than the ‘classic’. Where to measure and how to get started is also another previous blog post if you want to take a peek back at it to ensure your starting out right.

At the end of all these little struggles we put ourselves through as mummies, to these outstanding little beings, we should remember that we are our own version of perfect, flaws included. As whatever faith or belief system you have deemed your own, i am sure will support the fact that what defines a ‘real woman’ is exactly whatever makes her happy. So if waist training to lose a few inches makes you happier, then do it!. If having the surgery to fix the prolapse within your tummy gives you the confidence to wear a bikini, then do it! And if you choose not to approach the fact that you either have a lot of sagging skin such as myself, or a bagging tummy muscle, then don’t do it! You must do for yourself whatever serves your soul and not for the purpose of pleasing others.

Much love and light, J. 

Leave a Reply

